close
close

Devin Haney vs Ryan Garcia LIVE: Latest fight updates, start time, undercard and results

Ryan Garcia and Devin Haney shake hands after ‘religion’ dispute

Devin Haney and Ryan Garcia will meet tonight in a controversial fight, with some fans and pundits claiming the fight should have been called off.

Garcia’s behavior outside the ring has raised concerns about his mental health, and the 25-year-old’s failed weigh-in on Friday only increased the belief that he could put up an uphill battle against Haney.

Haney, also 25, went 3-3 against Garcia during the Americans’ amateur days, but the ‘Dream’ has surpassed Garcia as a professional. The undefeated Haney reigned as undisputed lightweight champion before relinquishing those titles late last year and taking the WBC super lightweight title from Regis Prograis in December.

That title was supposed to be defended tonight, but Garcia’s three-pound weight miss has put him out of contention for the gold. According to a bet by Garcia, the potential challenger must also pay Haney $500,000 for every pound of excess weight.

Follow live updates and results from Haney vs Garcia and the undercard below. Buy a DAZN subscription here, with plans starting from £9.99 per month. We may earn commission from some of the links in this article, but we never allow this to influence our content. This income helps fund The Independent’s journalism.

1713659209

Devin Haney vs. Ryan Garcia LIVE: Charles Conwell vs. Nathaniel Gallimore

Both men are Orthodox. Gallimore puts out a cross on Conwell’s gloves. Now Gallimore fires to the body before throwing a grazing left hook upstairs.

Conwell tries to stop Gallimore’s momentum. He lands a big overhand and then two brutal body hooks! A clean one-two also penetrates to the head!

Alex PattelApril 21, 2024 01:26

1713658770

Devin Haney vs. Ryan Garcia LIVE

The first fight of the main card sees Charles Conwell (18-0, 13 KOs) take on Nathaniel Gallimore (27-7-1, 17 KOs) at super welterweight.

Ten rounds are planned here.

Alex PattelApril 21, 2024 01:19

1713657600

Devin Haney vs. Ryan Garcia LIVE

The most important card is ours!

Alex PattelApril 21, 2024 1:00 am

1713656700

Devin Haney vs. Ryan Garcia LIVE

The main map is 15 minutes away! Our live fight coverage then begins. Don’t go anywhere

Alex PattelApril 21, 2024 00:45

1713655800

Devin Haney vs. Ryan Garcia LIVE

In any case, any credits paid to Garcia will be offset by concerns for the young American. Right now, it’s not about his physical well-being – although that could suffer in twelve rounds with Haney if the fight lasts that long – but rather his mental health.

Lately, however, he has raised concerns about erratic behavior in front of the cameras and alarming comments on social media. These ranged from bizarre – such as vouching for the existence of aliens – to much more serious.

Alex PattelApril 21, 2024 00:30

1713654900

Devin Haney vs. Ryan Garcia LIVE

Haney’s story is simple: he was sublime. Garcia’s journey, however, has been much messier, and now things are getting murky.

Still, Garcia was rightly credited with testing himself against a fearsome puncher at a young age, and there are those who see the same merit in Garcia challenging Haney. Others believe that Garcia, who has yet to win a world title in an era when they are in abundance, would have been wiser to fight Rolly Romero for one of Haney’s old titles – and use that gold as a bargaining chip in negotiations with Haney . the line.

(On the other hand, there was nothing sensible about Garcia promising to pay Haney $500,000 for every pound he was overweight — with Garcia now owing Haney $1.5 million, which Haney says his opponent has honored.)

Alex PattelApril 21, 2024 00:15

1713651308

Devin Haney vs. Ryan Garcia LIVE

There is fear in the boxing community that Ryan Garcia could be seriously injured if he fights Devin Haney tonight. There is fear that he is already in pain.

In Brooklyn tonight, Garcia and Haney will resume a rivalry that dates back to their amateur careers – a time when there was little to separate the Americans as they won 3-3 in six bouts. But as they prepare to meet as 25-year-olds in the professional ranks, nine years after their last turning point, it feels like they couldn’t be further apart.

Alex PattelApril 20, 2024 11:15 PM

1713647708

Devin Haney vs. Ryan Garcia LIVE

Full map (subject to change)

Devin Haney (C) vs. Ryan Garcia (WBC super lightweight title)

Arnold Barboza Jr vs. Sean McComb (Super Lightweight)

Bektemir Melikuziev vs. Pierre Dibombe (super-middleweight)

John Ramirez vs. David Jimenez (super flyweight)

Charles Conwell vs. Nathaniel Gallimore (Super Welterweight)

Alex PattelApril 20, 2024 10:15 PM

1713644108

Devin Haney vs. Ryan Garcia LIVE

If you’re traveling abroad and want to watch the event, you may need a VPN to unblock your streaming app. Our VPN overview is here to help and includes offers for VPNs on the market. Viewers using a VPN should ensure that they comply with local regulations where they are located, as well as the terms and conditions of their service provider.

Alex PattelApril 20, 2024 9:15 PM

1713640508

Devin Haney vs. Ryan Garcia LIVE

Haney vs Garcia will take place at the Barclays Center in Brooklyn, New York.

The main card kicks off on Sunday, April 21 at 1am BST (5pm PT / 7pm CT / 8pm ET on Saturday), while the ring walks for the main event are expected around 4am BST on Sunday (8pm PT / 10pm CT / 11:00 PM ET on Saturday).

Alex PattelApril 20, 2024 8:15 PM